Search    Main Website    Parts Store    Forum    FAQ    Login

Board index » Archive » Old Spudtech Message Board » Ammo Ideas

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 12:00 pm 
Site Admin

Originaly posted by cchant,
There are a lot of pictures, so give it a while to load.

I've been researching projectiles for a good 9 months now. Since then I've been trying to develop the ultimate projectile for maximum range. Everyone seems to measure potato gun performance by how far their guns can shoot, but sooooo much of that is determined by what projectile you use. The projectile sits in the barrel for a fraction of a second, then fights a much longer battle against drag. It seemed very logical to me if someone wants to shoot as far as they possibly can with their gun, they would need to use a high performance projectile. That is where these come in:

The bigger one is made from 1.5" PVC (yep, solid PVC pipe construction) and is made for a 2" barrel. It weighs about 245g with no front mass. A small front mass is needed because the projectiles come out slightly back heavy, so you need a little more up front to keep it pointing forward in flight. The mass can be made by dropping small, round fishing weights followed up by some hot glue or bondo to secure them in place.

This one is made from 1" PVC fitted with a sabot for use in a 2" barrel. It weighs 100g. Ultimately, I would use a difference sabot to fire these because that one is a little hefty. The lighter the better. The reason for the sabot is to get the benefits of a larger barrel (more gas pushing on it means more force) and having a smaller profile when traveling through the air.

It does, however, make a near perfect fit in 2" pipe. The final version of the sabot would have the back end sealed off.

Construction is very labor intensive. Flaps are cut out of the PVC with a Dremel tool.